March 2018 Competitions Update

02 Apr 2018

Written by Administrator on Monday April 2, 2018

With a couple of results still to be published.

Sussex County Cup Competitions

The Sussex County Finals will take place on Saturday 14th April at East Grinstead.  
At the time of writing, the following club members have qualified to take part:

Hardy Roberts(Veterans Individual):  Malcolm Brain & Peter Watson

Horrill Trophy:  Richard Nichols & Mike Kettle

Lawson:  Trevor Wilde, Andy Meyers, David White & Simon Bushell

Sutton Vase:  Charles White qualified for the final with a superb score of 199 ex 200

Eastbourne & District Cup Competitions

The Eastbourne Finals will take place on Saturday 12th May at Uckfield’s range in West Hoathly.  With some results still to be announced, the following EGTSC members have qualified for the finals

Caffyn Cup:  Phil Wood & Peter Watson

Cardwell Cup:  It’s a family affair in the Ladies cup, where Elaine & Sam Kettle will be competing against each other (and a few other people) in the final. 

Russell Cup:  Both ‘A’ & ‘B’ club teams got through to the semi-final where they will go head-to-head to decide which one represents us in the final

Spain & Albury:  Trevor Wilde, Andy Meyers & Malcolm Brain all qualified but commiserations to David White who just missed out on a tie break.

Veterans Cup:  Peter Watson, Malcolm Brain & Jim Howard take 3 of the 5 places in this year’s final

Coronation Cup:  Andy Meyers is EGTSC’s last man standing in this competition, having made it through to the last 8 with one more win needed to qualify for finals day.

Good luck to you all. 

League Competitions Update

With most of the results now in, the club can congratulate itself on another successful season.

The Sussex County leagues don’t finish until the end of April, but with 3 of our 5 teams currently very well placed, there is a very good chance the season could get even better.  Don’t rule out a surprise in Division3 either.  Our ‘C’ and ‘D’ teams are battling 5 other clubs in a real dog-fight.  After 10 rounds there are only 4 points between all 7 teams in the division and some of the results are frankly bizarre.  For example, in round 5, the ‘C’ team LOST and moved UP from 3rd to 1st.  This one will probably go to the wire and I wouldn’t rule anybody out.

Winter Leagues

Congratulations to Malcolm Brain, Trevor Wilde, Peter Watson, Simon Bushell & Jim Howard.  They beat their closest challengers, Uckfield HG, in the 10th and final round to confirm their position as champions of Eastbourne Div.1.

Malcolm, Trevor, Peter & Simon, this time joined by Jeremy Allen, made up our ‘A’  team in Croydon Div.1. They had a rather more convincing season, emerging as champions with a perfect record, winning all 10 rounds.  The team will now contest the shoot-off for the Winter Cup on a handicap basis against the winners of the other divisions.  In the concurrent individual competition, Malcolm (class A) and Trevor (class B) both finished top of their class in the second stage and will go forward to compete in the finals at Gally Hill on 29th April.

In NSRA Short Range Div.11, the ‘B’ team made things extremely difficult for themselves by having a card disqualified in round 1 and scoring no points at all in round 3 when the whole team’s cards were lost in the post!  A big round of applause then for Jeremy Allen, David & Charles White, Simon Bushell (again) and Richard Nichols, who came back from that inauspicious start to take 7 wins and a draw from the remaining 8 rounds and emerge as champions.

East Grinstead are also champions of Div. 4 in the NSRA 50m competition.  Despite a hiccup in round 9, the team of Andy Meyers, Trevor Wilde, Malcolm Brain, Tim Green & Jim Howard, managed to steady the ship and sail home safely in round 10.

City of London

In the City leagues, all our teams came up against some impressive opposition and could only manage a couple of second places.  One of those was In Div.1, where our ‘A’ team was the only one to take a point off runaway winners, Colchester ‘A’.  Malcolm Brain, David White and Trevor Wilde all maintained an average of 97+ throughout the season to qualify for the City individual finals.

Middlesex Time Limit

Confirmation that Tim Green, Sam Kettle & Andy Meyers finished their winning season in Division 3 with a 100% unbeaten record.  Well done!

Polar Bear

Jim Howard also managed to maintain a 100% winning record in Div.18 of the Polar Bear 50m competition, taking the championship by beating his closest challenger in a final round decider.

Portslade & West Hove

Congratulations to Andy Meyers, Portslade & West Hove short range Div.1. champion yet again, but this time unable to repeat last season’s double of winning the top division in long-range as well.

In Div.11, Stephen Dryburgh recovered from losing in round one to win the remaining six matches and clinch the title of champion.  Who came second?  Ironically, the person who beat him in that first round and perhaps inadvertently spurred him on to try a bit harder thereafter.


Congratulations to Jim Howard (4), Andy Meyers (3), Trevor Wilde (2) & Marie Featherstone (1) who took 10 divisional titles between them in the Winter Meridian competition.

Well done to everyone!